Skip to main content


The Mayor of Morpeth – Councillor David Bawn

The Mayor of Morpeth, for the period June 2020 to May 2021 is Councillor David Bawn.

The Mayor’s chosen charity for this year is Contact Morpeth Mental Health Group Ltd.

The Mayor of Morpeth can be contacted by using the following email address

The Mayor of Morpeth is the ceremonial head of the Town. The role came into being on the 1st April 2009 after the abolition of Castle Morpeth Borough Council and it’s mayoral role ceased.

Morpeth Town Council maintains the historical and ceremonial traditions of the Office of Mayor who will promote the town locally, nationally and internationally.

Please click here to read a fascinating piece of Morpeth history regarding the presentation of the current Mayor’s Chain in 1890. Rediscovered and transcribed by Cllr Andrew Tebbutt.

The Deputy Mayor of Morpeth – Councillor Rachael Hogg


Past Mayors of Morpeth:

2019 – 2020 Cllr Alison Byard
2018 – 2019 Cllr Jack Gebhard
2017 – 2018 Cllr Nic Best
2016 – 2017 Cllr Andrew Tebbutt
2015 – 2016 Cllr Alison Byard
2014 – 2015 Cllr Nic Best
2013 – 2014 Cllr Joan Tebbutt
2012 – 2013 Cllr Mark Horton
2011 – 2012 Cllr Phil Taylor
2009 – 2011 Cllr Ken Brown